• ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰ
Lok Sabha has 545 members, 530 members from the states, 13 members from the Union territories and nominated members representing the Anglo Indian community. Some seats are reserved for representatives of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.

The representatives from States and Union territories are directly elected by the people on the basis of universal adult suffrage. Every citizen who is over 18 years of age, irrespective of gender, caste, religion or race, who is otherwise not disqualified, is eligible to vote. There are 13 Parliamentary Constituencies (each comprised 9 Assemblies)  in the State of Punjab out of which 4 constituencies are reserved for SC.
The Vidhan Sabha also known as Legislative Assembly. Members of the Vidhan Sabha are direct representatives of the people of the particular state as they are directly elected by an electorate consisting of all adult citizens of that state. Its maximum size as outlined in the Constitution of India is not more than 500 members and not less than 60. However, it can be less than 60 by an Act of Parliament like in the states of Goa, Sikkim and Mizoram. In the State of Punjab, there are 117 Assembly Constituencies out of which 34 Assembly Constituencies are reserved for SC.
The Rajya Sabha (meaning the "Council of States") is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership is limited to 250 members, 12 of whom are chosen by the President of India for their expertise in specific fields of art, literature, science, and social services. These members are known as nominated members. The remainder of the body is elected by state and territorial legislatures. Terms of office are for six years, with one third of the members facing re-election every two years. The Rajya Sabha meets in continuous session and, unlike the lower house of parliament, the Lok Sabha, is not subject to dissolution.

The Rajya Sabha shares legislative powers with the Lok Sabha, except in the area of supply, where the Lok Sabha has overriding powers. In the case of conflicting legislation, a joint sitting of the two houses is held. However, since the Lok Sabha has more than twice as many members than the Rajya Sabha, it holds de facto veto power in such joint sessions. The Vice-President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, who is elected from amongst its members, takes care of the day-to-day matters of the house in the absence of the Chairman. There are 7 Rajya Sabha seats in the State of Punjab.

The Indian President is the head of the state and he is also called the first citizen of India. The President of India is the head of state of the Republic of India.  Article 56(1) of the Constitution of India provides that the President of India The President is the formal head of the executive, legislature and judiciary of India and is also the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces

Vice president  is the second-highest constitutional office in India after the President. The vice president act as president in absence of death, resignation, impeachment or their situation. The Vice President of India is also ex officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.