ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashok Road, New Delhi-110 001

No. 576/EXIT/2022/SDR/Vol.II	Dated: 6	5 th June, 2022

To,

- The Chief Electoral officer of
- 1. Punjab,
- 2. Uttar Pradesh
- 3. Tripura
- 4. Andhra Pradesh
- 5. NCT of Delhi
- 6. Jharkhand

Subject Bye Elections in Parliamentary/Assembly Constituencies of various States –the Election Commission's Notification regarding ban on Exit Poll – regarding.

Sir/Madam,

I am directed to forward herewith the Commission's Notification No. 576/Exit/2022/SDR/Vol.II dated 6th June, 2022 with the request that this may be published in an extraordinary issue of the State gazette and a copy thereof may be sent to the Commission for record.

This may be brought to the notice of all concerned including news bureaus, media houses, radio and television channels etc.

Yours faithfully,

(Abhishek Tiwari) Under Secretary

भारत के राजपत्र के असाधारण अंक, खण्ड़-II, भाग 3(iii) में प्रकाशनार्थ। पंजाब, उत्तरप्रदेश, त्रिपुरा, आंध्रप्रदेश, राष्ट्रीय राजधानी क्षेत्र दिल्ली और झारखण्ड़राज्य सरकार के शासकीय राजपत्र के असाधारण अंक में पुनः प्रकाशनार्थ।

भारत निर्वाचन आयोग

निर्वाचन सदन, अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली-110001

सं. 576/एक्जिट/2022/एसडीआर/खण्ड़-॥

दिनांक: <u>6 जून, 2022</u> 6, ज्येष्ठ, 1944 (शक़)

<u>अधिसूचना</u>

यतः निर्वाचन आयोग द्वारा दिनांक 25 मई, 2022 के प्रेस नोट संख्या ईसीआई/प्रे.नो./52/2022 के तहत घोषित पंजाब के 12-संगरूर संसदीय निर्वाचन क्षेत्र, उत्तरप्रदेश के 7-रामपुर एवं 69-आजमगढ़ संसदीय निर्वाचन क्षेत्रों, त्रिपुरा के 6-अगरतला, 8-टाउन बोरडोवाली, 46-सुरमा (अ.जा.) एवं 57-जुबराजनगर विधानसभा निर्वाचन क्षेत्रों, आंध्रप्रदेश के 115-अट्माकुर विधानसभा निर्वाचन क्षेत्र, राष्ट्रीय राजधानी क्षेत्र दिल्ली के 39-राजिन्द्र नगर विधानसभा निर्वाचन क्षेत्र और झारखण्ड के 66-मान्डर (अ.ज.जा.)विधान सभा निर्वाचन क्षेत्र के लिए कार्यक्रम की घोषणा की गई थी; और:

यतः, लोक प्रतिनिधित्व अधिनियम 1951 (संक्षेप में लो.प्र.अधिनियम, 1951) की धारा 126क में यह निर्दिष्ट किया गया है कि " *(1) कोई भी व्यक्ति कोई निर्गम मत सर्वेक्षण नहीं करेगा और किसी निर्गम मत* सर्वेक्षण के परिणाम का, ऐसी अवधि के दौरान जो निर्वाचन आयोग द्वारा इस संबंध में अधिसूचित की जाए, प्रिंट या इलैक्ट्रॉनिक मीडिया के माध्यम से प्रकाशन या प्रचार या किसी भी प्रकार की अन्य रीति में प्रसार नहीं करेगा।

(2) निर्वाचन आयोग, उपधारा (1) के प्रयोजन के लिए, निम्नलिखित को ध्यान में रखते हुए साधारण आदेश द्वारा तारीख और समय अधिसूचित करेगा, अर्थात :-

(क) साधारण निर्वाचन की दशा में, वह अवधि मतदान के पहले दिन को मतदान के लिए नियत समय के आरंभ होने से प्रारंभ हो सकेगी और सभी राज्यों और संघ राज्य क्षेत्रों में मतदान समाप्त होने के आधे घंटे तक जारी रह सकेगी;

परंतु भिन्न-भिन्न दिनों पर एक साथ कराए जाने वाले अनेक उप-निर्वाचनों की दशा में, वह अवधि मतदान के पहले दिन को मतदान के लिए नियत समय के आरंभ होने से प्रारंभ हो सकेगी और अंतिम मतदान समाप्त होने के पश्चात आधे घंटे तक जारी रह सकेगी।

(3) ऐसा कोई व्यक्ति, जो इस धारा के उपबंधों का उल्लंघन करेगा ऐसी अवधि के कारावास से, जो दो वर्ष तक की हो सकेगी या ज़ुर्माने से या दोनों से, दंडनीय होगा।" अब, इसलिए लोक प्रतिनिधित्व अधिनियम, 1951 की धारा 126क की उपधारा (1) के अधीन शक्तियों का प्रयोग करते हुए निर्वाचन आयोग उक्त धारा की उप-धारा (2) के उपबंधों के दृष्टिगत, 23.06.2022 (बृहस्पतिवार) को पूर्वाहन 7.00 बजे से अपराहन 6.30 बजे के बीच की अवधि को, ऐसी अवधि के रूप में अधिसूचित करता है जिसके दौरान उपर उल्लिखित उप-निर्वाचनों के संदर्भ में किसी भी प्रकार के एग्जिट पोल का आयोजन करने तथा प्रिंट या इलेक्ट्रॉनिक मीडिया द्वारा इसके परिणाम के प्रकाशन या प्रचार अथवा किसी भी अन्य तरीके से उसका प्रचार-प्रसार करने पर प्रतिबंध होगा।

यह भी स्पष्ट किया जाता है कि लोक प्रतिनिधित्व अधिनियम, 1951 की धारा 126 (1) (ख) के अधीन उपर्युक्त उप-निर्वाचनों में संबंधित मतदान क्षेत्रों में मतदान की समाप्ति के लिए नियत समय पर समाप्त होने वाले 48 घंटों के दौरान किसी भी इलेक्ट्रानिक मीडिया में किसी भी ओपिनियन पोल या किसी अन्य मतदान सर्वेक्षण के परिणामों सहित किसी भी प्रकार के निर्वाचन संबंधी मामले के प्रदर्शन पर प्रतिबंध होगा।

आदेश से,

08~// (नरेन्द्र ना.बुट वरिष्ठ प्रधान समिव

To be published in an extraordinary issue of Gazette of India, Part-II, Section 3(iii). To be re-published in the State Gazettes, of Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, NCT of Delhi and Jharkhand.

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi – 110001.

No. 576/EXIT/2022/SDR/Vol.II

Dated: <u>6th June, 2022</u> 6 Jyeshth, 1944 (Saka)

NOTIFICATION

Whereas, the schedule for the bye election to the 12-Sangrur Parliamentary Constituency of Punjab, 7-Rampur Parliamentary Constituency &69-Azamgarh Parliamentary Constituency of Uttar Pradesh, 06-Agartala, 08-Town Bordowali, 46-Surma(SC) & 57-Jubarajnagar Assembly Constituencies of Tripura, 115-Atmakur Assembly Constituency of Andhra Pradesh, 39-Rajinder Nagar Assembly Constituency of NCT of Delhi and 66-Mandar(ST) Assembly Constituency of Jharkhand, announced vide the Election Commission's Press Note No. ECI/PN/52/2022 dated 25th May, 2022.

And whereas, Section 126A of The Representation of the People Act, 1951(in short R.P. Act, 1951) specifies that (1)No person shall conduct any exit poll and publish or publicise by means of the print or electronic media or disseminate in any other manner, whatsoever, the result of any exit poll during such period, as may be notified by the Election Commission in this regard.

(2) For the purposes of sub-section (1), the Election Commission shall, by a general order, notify the date and time having due regard to the following, namely:—

(a) in case of a general election, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the poll in all the States and Union territories;

Provided that in case of a number of bye-elections held together on different days, the period may commence from the beginning of the hours fixed for poll on the first day of poll and continue till half an hour after closing of the last poll.

(3) Any person who contravenes the provisions of this section shall be punishable with imprisonment for a term which may extend to two years or with fine or with both."

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers under sub-Section (1) of Section 126A of the R.P. Act, 1951, the Election Commission, having regard to the provisions of Sub-Section (2)(b) of the said Section, hereby notifies the period between **7.00** A.M. and **6.30** P.M. on **23-06-2022(Thursday)**, as the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of the print or electronic media or dissemination in any other manner whatsoever, the result of any exit poll in connection with the aforesaid bye-elections, shall be prohibited.

It is further clarified that under Section 126(1)(b) of the R.P. Act, 1951, displaying any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusion of poll for the aforesaid bye-elections.

By order,

(NARENDRA N. BUTOLIA) SR.PR. SECRETARY